Rediscovering the Art of Biblical Narrative

It’s that time of the teaching year when I introduce students to narrative criticism in the books of Samuel. I always find this a joy, as students become attuned to narrative structures and devices. They develop reading strategies that make the reading experience so much richer, which in turn makes them better exegetes. Those who have been through my classes will forever  remember to look for the ‘predicament’ and the ‘denouement’ (Haw! Haw! Haw!) in the biblical narratives they analyse.

One of the most significant volumes to give narrative criticism impetus in biblical studies was Robert Alter’s book, The Art of Biblical Narrative. For anyone seeking to understand narrative, especially as it’s found in biblical texts, Alter’s work is a must-read. I highly recommend it. Over at Rekindle, my friend Graham Heslop has written a neat little piece about Alter’s seminal work. It’s called ‘Rediscovering the Art of Biblical Narrative’, and I commend it to folk as a short but valuable read.

4 thoughts on “Rediscovering the Art of Biblical Narrative

  1. Hear hear. I went to reread a section of it just the other day and discovered it missing from my shelves: another of those forgotten loans that are only revealed too late. Had to order a new copy.

    I assume you’ve also perused ‘The David Story’ which would of course be pertinent. I found lots of good ideas in there!

  2. I believe you may enjoy reading my novel because of your interest biblical narrative. The novel is a contemporary application of a story to promote the ancient wisdom and wise sayings in relation to today’s modern times.

    As A Lily Among Thorns – A Story of King Solomon, the Queen of Sheba, and the Goddess of Wisdom by Rudy U Martinka

    Now available as an eBook at all sellers. View at link below.

    http://amazon.com/gp/search?field-author=rudy+martinka&index=books

    Regards and good will blogging

Leave a Reply

